I spent a big part of this past summer at my alma mater, Austin Peay State University in Clarksville, Tennessee. I printed a book on lonely astronauts, tuned-up a Vandercook press, and organized some type.

cleaning the Vandercook

a nice, clean press

making some paper

But my favorite thing I did this summer, by far, was teaching kids’ book arts classes. For 5 weeks, 3 days a week, I worked with some wonderful kids on making paper, binding books, printing linoleum blocks, and tons of other stuff. The kids were awesome and they all did some amazing work. I think they are better at pulling sheets of paper than I am.

our giant paper airplane

our giant paper airplane in action!

 

mixing food coloring into the pulp was even more popular than I ever could have imagined

they never got tired of hangman.a scene from our puppet play, "To The Pluto Rescue." even Neil DeGrasse Tyson can't explain why kids love Pluto so much.

Some amazing and dear friends let me stay with them for two months, and I can’t thank them enough. We watched almost every episode of The Wire together and I could not have asked for better company.

I hope I’m able to return next summer and do it all again!

