Official JMPMBBAP badgeThis is the Official badge I designed for archivists involved in the John-Michael Perkins Memorial Bankhead Broadside Archive Project. What exactly is the John-Michael Perkins Memorial Bankhead Broadside Archive Project, you ask? And why is it “Memorial” when I’m not dead?

Well I’ll answer the second question first. I’m not dead YET. Now for the first question. Here at the University of Alabama we have the Bankhead Visiting Writers series which brings amazing writers from all over the place to the university to read from their works (http://english.ua.edu/grad/cw/bankhead). For a long time the book arts program has been letterpress printing broadsides to commemorate their readings. One fateful day, when I was trying to come up with an idea for a Bankhead broadside I was supposed to be working on, I realized that there weren’t any around for me to look at and be inspired by. This is because we usually give them all away to the English department to hand out at the readings. I decided it was high time we began keeping an archive of these broadsides because the work we all have done for the Bankhead series is beautiful and deserves to be properly cataloged and stored. I decided to name it after me because everyone wants to leave a legacy behind and this is the one I have chosen for myself. I made it “Memorial” because someday (probably) I will be dead and I want book arts students in the year 2112 to be like, “Who WAS this guy?” and everyone will shrug and go about their business. Ahhhh, what a legacy! I’ll be dead (most likely), but the archive will live on!

I’ve been the head (and only) archivist for the past year. Now I’m not going to be around forever (This isn’t more “being dead” talk. I mean that I graduate next year and I’m pretty sure they’ll force me to leave.) so I have decided who will take my place. I know she’ll do a great job (just as good, if not better than I did), and then pick someone equally as awesome to take over when she leaves. But I’ll be in charge for one more year and I plan on making some big changes. First of all, we recently (as recently as just the other day!) expanded to include Farmer’s Market broadsides printed by book arts students. This caused me to have to upgrade to a bigger cardboard box on my shelf. Also I plan on scanning them at some point. Big changes in 2012, I tell you!

Anyway, the above badge can only legally be worn by official archivists working on the project, but since I put it on the internet for all to see, how could I possibly stop you?

